Monday, June 17, 2024

Brazil awarded FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2027


The trophy in last year’s WC. Photo: Abbie Parr / AP / NTB

Of NTB | 17.05.2024 08:49:28

Sport: It was decided at the International Football Association (FIFA) congress in Bangkok on Friday.

Brazil was up against a joint bid from Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany to host the championship in three years’ time. It is the first time that the Women’s World Cup will be held in South America.

At the congress, Brazil received 119 votes, while Belgium/Netherlands/Germany received 78.

The Norwegian Football Association was among the Fifa members who supported the European application.

In Fifa’s technical report, Brazil received an average score of 4.0 on a scale of 5. The European application was assessed at an average score of 3.7.

– The evaluation determines that both applications are qualified to be assessed by Fifa’s board and congress. Both exceed the minimum requirements set to host the Women’s World Cup in 2027, Fifa said.

(© NTB)


© Jaun News English